for the love of vogs

where the MotleyFlue gather

Goodbye to the Melrose Store

Leave a comment

The news should be out there now, that Fluevog is closing its store on Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles. This Black Friday weekend is probably the last time you’ll be able to try on and buy shoes there. If you want some great recommendations, read Joanne’s previous post. By an unlucky twist, I won’t be able to make it to the store this weekend, but I did get a chance to say goodbye earlier.

Operetta GiuliasThis is very sad for me as the Melrose store is my store. It’s where I first learned that shoes could be both beautiful and comfortable for my feet; it’s where I bought my first amazing pair of Vogs (red Giulia boots); and it’s where I’ve had so many wonderful experiences thanks to fellow Voggers and Fluevogologists (a.k.a. the amazing store staff) over the years. And we never forget our first, do we? Thankfully, I had one last wonderful experience last week, when Mr. John Fluevog himself visited Los Angeles to have dinner with some of the Melrose faithfuls. It was bittersweet for me and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to contain my sadness, but, again, the lovely community made up by Voggers and Fluevogologists made it a fun, lovely experience. And it was an honor to meet John and hear his fascinating journey from his own lips. The delicious wine and tapas didn’t hurt, either. 🙂 Here are some of my photos from the goodbye celebration.

Me and John Fluevog

Thanks to fellow Vogger Alice for taking this photo of me and Mr. Fluevog. It’s one of my favorite photos of the night.

DSC_1011

Natasha looked amazing with those famous boots, and to top it off she had a fun dachshund purse!

DSC_1016

First Fluevog flower wheel of the night (I’m at the 6:30 position)

DSC_1022

Some of the wonderful folks who made it a great night: Rusty, Natasha, Alice, Lisa, and Rob

DSC_1024

Our table was lucky enough to get John first as well as Fluevogologist Lesley (they moved around through the night).

DSC_1026

Next to hang out with us was Fluevogologist Kate — here she is with Alice. Great photo! (I didn’t get a photo of the other Fluevogologists, sorry!)

DSC_1027

Mr. Fluevog giving a little speech

DSC_1029

My final flower wheel of the night, with John Fluevog in the 7 o’clock position

xo, Gladys

Leave a Reply

