for the love of vogs

where the MotleyFlue gather

Fluevogs on Stage

4 Comments

I am an Improviser

And an everyday improviser means any day is a Fluevog day – improv practices,  jams, performances, and shows, and philosophically, life is all improvised.

Improvising in the SF Bay Area. I am an improviser in the San Francisco Bay Area.In 2011, I started out with Made Up Theatre (MUT) in the East Bay and have been part of MUT’s student performance troupes throughout the years. In 2012, I also began taking classes with EndGames Improv in San Francisco. As part of their curriculum, I became part of Sin Kitty (on Facebook), a Harold team, which had our last show together in Oct 2012 and has since gone feral, however, we still improvise with each other elsewhere. I am part of a newly formed Harold team called Scene Chicken (on Facebook). And finally, I have been with The Letters (on Facebook) since January 2014; we are actually co-creating a new form, which is pretty exciting. VERY EXCITING!

What does this have to do with Fluevogs? Improv makes me happy. Fluevogs make me happy. For me, improv and Fluevogs naturally go together.

I Spy Fluevogs at Improv

Here are a few photos of Fluevogs in action at improv shows, improv jams, and warm-up exercises.

With the Letters. Below is from a July 3 performance with The Letters. Fellow improvisers and friends Megan (in the green sweater) and Matt (not pictured) were moving to Chicago the following week, so we had a chance to perform before their leaving. Yes, the Luthers captured the attention of audience members.

0726_Harold_Luther_arrow

At improv jams. Both pictures below are from improv jams. The Sandras were part of a group exercise where folks were mirroring each other. If you look closely, you can see the duos and trios doing so. And for the Arabellas, can you guess what kind of improv jam this was? An amazing all Lady Jam! All welcomed to attend, however, ladies-only performing. It was amazing! Not only was there improvising, there was dancing! The Arabellas did quite well that evening. (They – or other Fluevogs from my collection – will be at the next San Francisco Lady Jams –  August 25 and September 29. Great way to end a Monday!)

Combined_Arabella - Sandra

With The Letters (again). From this past Friday, August 1, we were part of an anniversary show hosted by a local duo, Flakey Jake (on Facebook). In addition to celebrating an anniversary of a fun improv duo, this was a special night for my  Gateway | Brandenburg Light red-stitched, cap-toe shoes. We performed with a special guest, Jim. (Thanks, Jim, for playing with The Letters.) That evening, the Brandenburg Lights were part of being a helicopter, a nun, and Miss Saigon, all while supporting my fellow improvisers.

0801_FlakeyJake show_Brandenburg Light

Let us know –
Where do you take your Fluevogs?

* I am still figuring out my gainful employment/business endeavors
after having resigned from my job on April 4, but that story is for another day.
Hmmm … I wonder where my Fluevogs will take me then?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: anthrocubeologist

I am Shirley, and I believe workspaces shouldn't suck. I share my observations and perspectives on shaping cultural shifts through interactions, workspace, and choice. I believe with personal, tiny changes emerge meaningful shifts - workspace cultural shifts happen when one chooses meaningful interactions – creating human-to-human shared experiences. I am an Environmental and Energy Consultant - think air quality, energy and power plant projects, the environment. And I am the Anthrocubeologist, who is a Behavior Designer and Tiny Habits® Certified Coach - think interactions, habits and practices, workspace cultural shifts. Anthrocubeology, inspired by Improvisation, is the intersection of Behavior Design and the Servant-Leader philosophy. For more than 25 years, my workspaces have included the government sector, energy and environmental consulting, electric utility industry, power project developers, and my own business consulting practice. I no longer want to say "WTF CUBEOPOLIS?!" Join me.

4 thoughts on “Fluevogs on Stage

  1. so wonderful that you’ve put two of your loves together! thanks for sharing this. how fun!

  2. Yay! Glad to see this post! Keep ’em coming!!

Leave a Reply

