for the love of vogs

where the MotleyFlue gather

My first pair of Fluevogs

7 Comments

Ummm, that’s alotta skin vibin’ with a mini skirt

I, the Artful Voger (aka The Agent), CLAIM to be the pickiest of the MotleyFlue. BUT I wanted my inaugural post to be about my first pair of Fluevogs. In any case, my first pair of Vogs was, well, FAR from a practical purchase. The first and last time I wore these gems was in this picture. Now, my mother would hate these saucy booties because, let’s face it, people don’t imagine me wearing the Vibes and talking about post-structuralist theory and researching scopic regimes at the library. They picture other things like grocery shopping, you know?

So, dear reader, Generalissima really (really) wants me to wear these shoes. Naturally, whatever Generalissima suggests (voluntells me) to do, it’s for my own fabulous good. Quitey honestly, I love them. But only wear them around the house when I feel like shit (just being honest). The Vibes are like jewelry (you never feel bloated when you throw on your favorite earrings or necklace). Yet, I have not found an occasion to fiercely wear them. I know, I know…total shame, right? In any case, here’s a task for you…come up with an outfit for me. Make some suggestions and I’ll pick my favorite ones and go vintage shopping (or dig through my closet).

You’re probably thinking, “Out of your collection, which Fluvogs do you wear constantly?” Easy answer. My Wickeds from the Thanks family. Mini testimonial: 12 hours of walking around Manhattan and Brooklyn for a week (everyday) in my Wickeds pretty much sums up my love affair with them.

Okay, back to work and studying and work (and more studying). I’ll leave you with a couple tid bits…

  • If I had the money to burn, my next pair…would be the Silverlakes from The LA family (oh hell, since this is imaginary money, I would cop the Malibu knee highs as well) and prance around in short black dress with pewter accessories)!
  • The likely pair(s) for purchasePortsides from the On Course family because that’s some hardcore Mondrian goin’ on! I’ve wanted these for quite some time (and, they are Generalissima approved). Oh, and perhaps, a holiday present to myself – Rosyfrom the Hopeful family (my favorite color is blue for future reference)

Until next time, go vote, enjoy life, read a book (or two), be nice, and smile (a lot)!! 🙂

xoxo,

The Artful Voger (aka The Agent aka Dorothy)

Wickeds = Best.Boots.Ever

Author: Dorothy R. Santos

Dorothy R. Santos (b. 1978) is a Filipina-American writer, editor, curator, and educator whose research interests include new media and digital art, activism, artificial intelligence, and biotechnology. Born and raised in San Francisco, California, she holds Bachelor’s degrees in Philosophy and Psychology from the University of San Francisco, and received her Master’s degree in Visual and Critical Studies at the California College of the Arts. She serves as one of the editors-in-chief for Hyphen magazine. Her work appears in art21, Art Practical, Daily Serving, Rhizome, Hyperallergic, and SF MOMA's Open Space. She has lectured at the De Young museum, Stanford University, School of Visual Arts, and more. Her essay “Materiality to Machines: Manufacturing the Organic and Hypotheses for Future Imaginings,” was published in The Routledge Companion to Biology in Art and Architecture (2016). She is currently a Yerba Buena Center for the Arts fellow researching the concept of citizenship. She also serves as executive staff for the Bay Area Society for Art & Activism and board member for the SOMArts Cultural Center.

7 thoughts on “My first pair of Fluevogs

  1. NAKS NAMAN! congrats on your first post … and what an attention getter? (insert audible whistle – woot-woo!) you TOTALLY ROCK them Vibes. they are so unique as you – indeed you are representing unique soles for unique souls! and thanks to your experience, i love the best.boots.ever – the Wickeds are comfy galore! lots of love to you xoxo

    • Ha ha. Thank you, Shirl! Seriously, I wanted the first post to be fun and a bit on the flirty side. I’m may be the baby of the bunch but I feel like I’m the most mischievous one as well, which explains the Baby status ~ Nobody puts Baby in a binder! ~ In any case, I’m diggin’ this format where I can let my crazy and kooky side come out. The MotleyFlue writing allows me to be humorous and fun and is an incredibly awesome break from all of the writing and reading I do. Thank you for the comment and so happy the four of us are connected the way we are. Btw, would you be open to me selecting a pair of shoes for you next fitting? JRo does this all the time (pick shoes out for me to try on). I kinda want to do that with you all. Hmmm…new fun side project…WHAT would the MotleyFlue pick out for each other!!! – BAM!! Generalissima would be proud and totally approve. Gotta get The Addict in on this.

      • Yes. Generalissima is VERY proud! Congrats on your first post, Boo! I’d love us to do a little “you need to try this on” trip and post on the blog. It would be a great collaborative post.

        Yes, Dorothy, ya got some SEXY gams! (fanning myself) For an outfit, I’m think Jim and Denny have that covered. Again, I totally see you wearing this at a cool art event or a magazine launch. You must sport the red lips! I’ve got just the color! Also, I see these as “hot for teacher” shoes. A cool but simple black top (something that shows your back so you can sport your tattoos!), some nice jeans, and “hot for teacher” shoes that make your students look twice. Ahem. Not that I have fantasies of doing that….

        Damn right, NO ONE puts Baby or any member of the MotleyFlue in a binder! I love that Shirley declared: NAKS NAMAN! That totally took me back to Guam in the 80s. Yes, gotta get The Addict on this. Gladys – where are you, love?!

      • have at it for selecting shoes to try on. i totally welcome ANY suggestions.

  2. if i were to dress up in these shoes … i’d definitely show off those amazing legs, D. but you know me, i love me some fancy lace and ties, so a short LBD with a flouncy skirt and lace-up corset on top. or even a short mod shift — with sequins if you’re going to an art gala. as mr. takei would say, oh myyyyy!

  3. p.s. i’m still on a high from yesterday’s election. nobody in binders! (unless they like it, if you know what i mean.)

Leave a Reply

