for the love of vogs

where the MotleyFlue gather

50 by 50? countdown to halloween 2013

10 Comments

(Madam kindly asks, “Please gimme or find me size 6.5 in these Mollie Johnsons … Pretty please.)

“Uhm … You think something like twenty-three?! THAT’S CRAZY!!!” These were the words I yelped at a co-worker in November 2008 after I bought my second pair of Fluevogs. WTF?! Her friend owned 23 pairs of Fluevogs?!

Twenty-Six … In early May 2012, the last time I took inventory, I counted 26 pairs. It has been five months, and my MotleyFlue sisters (esp. Pusher) have asked for a current count. Indeed, I am past due, because the MotleyFlue’s Pusher and Agent where present during a few more additions to this Madam’s collection. However, not only am I past due, I am inspired by a few other reasons for taking inventory:

  1. Counting – November 6 is the soon-to-be-counting of votes for the Presidential election. I like math, and I am in a counting mood.
  2. Aging – I turned 49 years old last week (on Halloween, to be more specific) and have decided I will not shun my love for Fluevogs. Maybe I will garner 50 pairs of Fluevogs by 50 years old – who knows?
  3. Families – Inspired by Pusher’s the unofficial guide to understanding Fluevog families, I want to share what families I tend to more than others (at least so far).
  4. Friends – A Junior High School friend shared that she loves her pair of Operetta | Bartolis – her first pair of Fluevogs. She has plantar fasciitis and has read about how I have shared my Fluevogs (Operettas) are comfortable. She sent me a nice Facebook message, “… My feet Thank you.” To her, I say “Thank YOU for sharing! And I hope you enjoy wearing your Bartolis – For the Love of Vogs!”
  5. Annual Home Cure – It’s fall housecleaning time. When the clocks “fall back”, not only do I replace my fire alarm batteries but I also revisit Apartment Therapy’s The Eight-Step Home Cure. I trim down my closets, bookshelves, dresser drawers, cupboards, and I feed the OutBox (day 4 of the home cure).

Thirty-four … Indeed, I have 34 Fluevogs that I can don on my feet. I will share more in future posts about my collection.  Meanwhile, below are the Vogs I own, in order from the most recent acquisition to my very first pair – my fellowships | kathys.

Thirty-seven? … OH WAIT! as Pusher reminded me, not to be forgotten are three accessories – operetta clutch, eddie weekend bag, and silvana small bag.

Sixteen (or Thirteen) by Halloween 2013?
We shall see …
(p.s. I’m a size 6.5 with Vogs
ranging from sizes 6 to 7. Just saying …)

percy jr. ❤ … shirl

Author: anthrocubeologist

I am Shirley, and I believe workspaces shouldn't suck. I share my observations and perspectives on shaping cultural shifts through interactions, workspace, and choice. I believe with personal, tiny changes emerge meaningful shifts - workspace cultural shifts happen when one chooses meaningful interactions – creating human-to-human shared experiences. I am an Environmental and Energy Consultant - think air quality, energy and power plant projects, the environment. And I am the Anthrocubeologist, who is a Behavior Designer and Tiny Habits® Certified Coach - think interactions, habits and practices, workspace cultural shifts. Anthrocubeology, inspired by Improvisation, is the intersection of Behavior Design and the Servant-Leader philosophy. For more than 25 years, my workspaces have included the government sector, energy and environmental consulting, electric utility industry, power project developers, and my own business consulting practice. I no longer want to say "WTF CUBEOPOLIS?!" Join me.

10 thoughts on “50 by 50? countdown to halloween 2013

  1. shirl, you and i have VERY similar tastes in fluevogs! congratulations especially on your 34th pair (elizabeth twinsies)!!! have you been planning out your vogunteer photos, by any chance? 🙂

    also, how in the world did i miss your halloween birthday? belated happy birthday, motleyflue sister! xoxo

    • gladys … cool! i’ll look forward to your collection post; nice to see them in f/b photos! and yes, i’ll be doing vogunteer posts (and looking at pasts posts if any currently worthy-ish) … and as far as my bday, i didn’t have the f/b bday thing on and likely haven’t exchanged bday info – so no problema. thanks for bday greeting!

  2. Yay! I’m glad to see another member of the MotleyFlue posting! This is a gorgeous collection, Shirl! Hey, I’m not the Pusher for nothing. A gal’s gotta live up to her reputation, you know!

    Btw. As the Generalissima, I kindly request that you post a photo montage of your collection. Mama needs to see pretty pictures of pretty shoes:)

  3. Congratulations on such a nice collection! Glad I could be there for the latest addition;). You can do it! 50 by 50… Oh yeah!

  4. Great collection indeed! This reminds me, I need to write a post…

  5. You now have 35 pairs (plus 3 accessories) and have added the gorgeous heart heels to your collection. While I’m still waiting to bless my collection with the vintage heel, I am SUPER HAPPY that you won that auction. I can’t wait to see the shoes in person!!

    50 by 50?! Girl, you know I’m ON IT!

Leave a Reply

